Colleges And Universities » Ivy League Universities

Ivy League Universities

The Ivy League is an athletic conference comprising eight private institutions of higher education in the Northeastern United States. The conference name is also commonly used to refer to those eight schools as a group. The eight institutions are Brown UniversityColumbia UniversityCornell UniversityDartmouth CollegeHarvard UniversityPrinceton University, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale University. The term Ivy League also has connotations of academic excellence, selectivity in admissions, and social elitism.  In addition, Ivy League schools are often viewed by the public as some of the most prestigious universities worldwide and are often ranked amongst the best universities in the United States and worldwide. All of the Ivy League's institutions place within the top 15 of the U.S. News & World Report college and university rankings; with five placing in the top six.

Institution Location Athletic nickname Undergraduate enrollment Motto
In Deo Speramus
(In God We Hope)
In lumine Tuo videbimus lumen
(In Thy light shall we see the light)
I would found an institution where any person can find instruction in any study.
Vox clamantis in deserto
(The voice of one crying in the wilderness)
Dei sub numine viget
(Under God's power she flourishes)
Leges sine moribus vanae
(Laws without morals are useless)
Lux et veritas
(Light and truth)